brandonmartinez

Discussing Azure Mobile Services on the MS Dev Show

Yesterday I was on the MS Dev Show discussing Azure Mobile Services. We discussed what AMS is, why you would want to use it, and in general, the amazing amount of functionality it provides to developers expanding their mobile presence.

Azure Mobile Services with Brandon Martinez | MS Dev Show

Check out the episode here: Azure Mobile Services with Brandon Martinez.

A Smartphone Bike Mount That Works!

Last summer I started biking as my exercise of choice. I purchased a Trek Verve 2 from the local bike shop, along with all the basics (helmet, travel bags, etc), and set out to ride over 600 miles last summer.

Using MapMyRide I was able to track all of my biking progress. However, I didn’t have a good way to see my progress during the ride; I would just start the workout, tuck my phone into the bike pouch, and be on my way. Well, I finally found the solution to that problem: the HandleBand.

The HandleBand by Nite Ize Continue reading…

Resolve an HTTP Error 500.21 in IIS

If you’ve setup a new IIS website and app pool and try hosing a .NET application, you may run into this error: HTTP Error 500.21 – Internal Server Error Handler “ExtensionlessUrlHandler-Integrated-4.0″ has a bad module “ManagedPipelineHandler” in its module list.

HTTP Error 500.21 - Internal Server Error Handler ExtensionlessUrlHandler-Integrated-4.0 has a bad module ManagedPipelineHandler in its module list

Luckily, it’s very easy to resolve. Run the follow command from an elevated command prompt:

%windir%\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v4.0.30319\aspnet_regiis.exe -i

If you’re on a 32-bit machine, you may have to use the following:

%windir%\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v4.0.30319\aspnet_regiis.exe -i

Reinstall ASP.NET in IIS

Try reloading your site; you should be set to go!

SSMS Tip: Disable “Saving Changes Is Not Permitted” Warning

If you’ve ever experienced the dreaded Saving changes is not permitted dialog in SQL Management Studio, this tip is for you.

01-SaveNotPermitted

To disable the message, open the Tools -> Options menu and navigate to Designers -> Table and Database Designers:

02-UncheckPreventSaving

From there uncheck the Prevent saving changes that require table re-creation checkbox. Hit the OK button and you’ll be all set.

While this change might not be recommended if you’re in a production environment, it’s great to get rid of this block when you’re developing and designing your databases.

Page 1 of 2812345...1020...»
Copyright © 2006 – 2014, Brandon Martinez. All rights reserved. A Martinez Media site.